comparison •

Orangetheory HYROX vs F45 and Peloton: What to Train Elsewhere

Orangetheory, F45 and Peloton each publish what their HYROX training covers. See which race stations each one names, and which ones to book elsewhere.

Athlete catching her breath in a dark group-training studio after a HYROX prep class
Key Takeaways
  • As of 29 October 2026, Orangetheory's November 2025 HYROX launch release names treadmill, rowing and functional strength work, and rowing is the only HYROX station that either the release or Orangetheory's HYROX page names.
  • F45's own HYROX guide, published in November 2025, says daily F45 sessions feature sled work, lunges, carries and wall balls, without saying whether the sled work is the push, the pull or both.
  • Peloton's July 2025 HYROX announcement links its row classes to the SkiErg and rowing stations, its strength classes to sandbag lunges and farmers carries, and Tread+ Free Mode to both sled stations.
  • HYROX's own affiliation FAQ says there are no minimum requirements to become a HYROX Training Club, so a partner badge does not prove that a studio owns a sled or a SkiErg.
  • Neither Orangetheory nor Peloton names wall balls as a class target in its HYROX material, and none of the three programmes names burpee broad jumps as class content, so racers who train with them need separate sessions for those stations.

Orangetheory, F45 and Peloton all sell HYROX preparation now, and all three are HYROX partners of some kind. Orangetheory began add-on HYROX classes at select studios on 1 December 2025. F45 became HYROX's training partner in 2024 and its global gym partner in March 2026. Peloton launched a Peloton x HYROX class collection in July 2025. What none of them publishes is a complete list of which of the 8 race stations its classes train, and the search summaries fill that gap with station claims the brands themselves never made.

So we read each programme's own pages and releases and set them against each race station. Programme details were checked against each brand's own pages on 29 October 2026.

Which stations Orangetheory HYROX, F45 and Peloton name

Each row is one race station. The middle three columns say what that programme names in its own published material. The last column says what to check on real race kit, whichever programme you follow, because a named station is still not proof that your studio has the race equipment.

What each programme names in its own material as of 29 October 2026, plus one Orangetheory manager filmed in his studio in April 2026. Distances and reps are the Open race spec.
StationOrangetheoryF45PelotonWhat to check, whatever your programme names
SkiErg, 1000 m Not named. One OTF manager on camera (Apr 2026): no SkiErg in his studio, a dumbbell hinge swing instead Not named Interval Row and HIIT Row classes, which Peloton says prepare you for the SkiErg Book time on a real SkiErg before race day (SkiErg technique)
Sled Push, 50 m Not named. One OTF manager on camera (Apr 2026): no sled in his studio "Sled work" in daily sessions; push or pull not specified Tread+ Free Mode, where your own power moves the belt Ask whether a studio can load a sled to the Open weight, 225 lb (102 kg) for women or 335 lb (152 kg) for men, and push it over about 12.5 m, turning it at each end (sled push technique)
Sled Pull, 50 m Not named. One OTF manager on camera (Apr 2026): no sled in his studio "Sled work"; push or pull not specified Tread+ Free Mode, which Peloton names for the sled pull Find a sled with a rope. The rule is to keep your feet in your box behind the line; pulling hand over hand and stepping back are both options (sled pull technique)
Burpee Broad Jump, 80 m Not named Not named Not named Needs no equipment, so practise the real movement anywhere (burpee broad jump technique)
Rowing, 1000 m Named: rowing (launch release, Nov 2025). One OTF manager on camera (Apr 2026): his studio has rowers Not named Interval Row and HIIT Row classes (these need a Peloton Row) Row some pieces at the race preset damper of 6, then try other settings, since racers may change it (rowing technique)
Farmers Carry, 200 m Not named "Carries" and "weighted carries" named Strength classes and Bootcamps, named for farmers carries Check the heaviest matched kettlebell pair against 2 x 35 lb (16 kg) for Open women or 2 x 53 lb (24 kg) for Open men (farmers carry technique)
Sandbag Lunges, 100 m Not named. One OTF manager on camera (Apr 2026): forward lunges with the weight held in the hands "Lunges" named Strength classes and Bootcamps, named for sandbag lunges Do some sessions with a sandbag across both shoulders, 22 lb (10 kg) for women or 44 lb (20 kg) for men in Open (sandbag lunges technique)
Wall Balls, 100 reps Not named. One OTF manager on camera (Apr 2026): a dumbbell squat-to-press instead Wall balls named Not named Ask for a target at race height: 2.70 m for women and 3.00 m for men in Open (wall balls technique)
The runs, 8 x 1000 m Named: treadmill work (launch release, Nov 2025) Named: the F45 Training HYROX Run Club Named: Interval Runs and Endurance Runs Practise running straight off a station, not only fresh intervals (compromised running)

What "not named" means here

The table uses two kinds of evidence. Most cells come from the brand's own pages and releases, all checked on 29 October 2026 and each dated in the reference list. The cells that begin "One OTF manager on camera" quote a single Orangetheory regional fitness manager speaking in a single South Carolina studio in April 2026, so they describe that studio and nothing wider.

"Not named" means the brand's HYROX material does not present the station as class or session content. F45's guide and Peloton's announcement both list every station when they describe the race; that is not the same as saying a class trains it. "Not named" also does not mean no studio ever trains it: what happens on one studio floor can differ from the corporate page. The last column is how you check your own.

What Orangetheory HYROX classes cover, from the release to one studio floor

Orangetheory announced on 17 November 2025 that it was becoming an official HYROX Affiliate Partner, with participating studios offering an OTF x HYROX programme from 1 December 2025. According to that launch release, the classes combine treadmill, rowing and functional strength exercises, run as add-on specialty classes alongside a member's regular Orangetheory routine, and are open to all fitness levels, whether a member is training for a race or simply wants to raise their weekly fitness. Studios that opt in become official HYROX Training Clubs, are featured on the HYROX website, and give members early access to race registration across North America.

In the same release, Scott Brown, Orangetheory's Vice President of Fitness, framed HYROX as mostly a test of running under fatigue, with 8 km of running in a standard race. He added that Orangetheory's connected treadmill and rower intervals make it ideal conditioning for HYROX, which is why the release leans on exactly those two machines.

What the material does not do is name the other stations. Orangetheory's HYROX page, checked on 29 October 2026, describes "strength, endurance, and heart-rate-based intervals" that train you to run under fatigue and move through transitions. Its own copy mentions no sled, SkiErg, wall ball, lunge, farmers carry or burpee broad jump. Google's US AI Overview for "orangetheory hyrox", captured in late October 2026, says these classes include sled pushes, wall balls, lunges and carries. Orangetheory's own page and release do not say so.

What one Orangetheory manager showed on camera

A closer look at one studio comes from an interview filmed on 10 April 2026 inside a downtown Greenville, South Carolina studio and published on 23 April 2026 on Chris Strub's YouTube channel. The guest, Dan Mitchell, is described in the video as Orangetheory's Regional Fitness Manager for South Carolina. He said the classes prepare members well for a race, while conceding that the studio might not have all the equipment found at a HYROX race. Later, on the studio floor, he was more specific: the studio does not "have a lot of the equipment that you would see in a HYROX like a sled or a ski erg, but we do have the rowers".

He then demonstrated the stand-ins. For the SkiErg, a dumbbell "hip hinge skier swing". For wall balls, a dumbbell squat-to-press. For lunges, forward lunges with the weight held in the hands. Each one rehearses part of the station and leaves part out. A dumbbell swing trains the hip hinge, but on a SkiErg the lats pull the handles down against the flywheel at the same moment the hips hinge. A squat-to-press trains the squat and the drive, but there is no throw, no catch and no target to hit.

This is one studio, filmed once. Your studio may own more race kit or less, so ask.

Twelve-week cycles and 90-minute classes

Two studio-level details do not appear on Orangetheory's corporate pages. In the same interview, the host, Chris Strub, said the Greenville studio's HYROX programme ran as a 12-week cycle that ended with three 90-minute classes. Separately, the Orangetheory Hyde Park studio posted its outline on Instagram on 28 January 2026: four phases, the last being "Three weeks of 3G 90-minute Race Simulations" in which "Running, rowing, and functional stations are performed under accumulating fatigue". Even that post names no individual station. If your studio runs a cycle, ask when the next one starts, and line its final phase up with your race date.

F45: sled work and wall balls in the daily sessions

F45 has the longest HYROX partnership of the three. Athletech News reported in May 2024 that F45 had signed a two-year deal to become HYROX's official training partner, bringing weekly HYROX signature workouts, joint run clubs and early-bird race access to participating studios. Sports Management reported in March 2026 that F45 had become HYROX's official global gym partner.

F45's own HYROX Signature Series page, published in February 2026, splits the programme into three phases: a foundation phase for endurance and general strength, a skills phase with rep targets and pacing work, and a race-ready phase that ramps up intensity and simulates race scenarios. The page names no station and no equipment.

The station claim sits in a different F45 article. Its HYROX training guide, published in November 2025, says: "Daily F45 sessions also feature sled work, lunges, carries, and wall balls, which are all movements you'll face on the HYROX floor." That is more than Orangetheory names, with two limits. "Sled work" does not say push, pull or both. And the guide mentions the SkiErg, rowing and burpee broad jumps only when it describes the race itself, never as part of an F45 session. F45 also runs the F45 Training HYROX Run Club and promotes pre-race shake-out runs in race cities.

The equipment question F45 leaves open

Whether an F45 floor has race kit is a studio question. In May 2025 the South African site WomenStuff interviewed Altus Moolman of F45 South Africa, who said F45 had teamed up with Centr, HYROX's official equipment supplier, to bring race-specific kit into studios. The article's own summary listed sleds, wall balls and wall-ball targets, and added that a local studio might still be adding pieces. That is one country's rollout, a year and a half old. Google's US AI Overview for "f45 hyrox", captured in late October 2026, says F45 studios have SkiErgs, rowers and sandbags. F45's own pages do not say that. Ask your studio which pieces it owns.

Peloton at home: the Tread+ stands in for the sled

Peloton's July 2025 announcement of its Peloton x HYROX Collection, a set of run, row, strength, bootcamp, mobility and meditation classes plus new HYROX Training Tread Bootcamps, maps classes to stations more directly than either studio brand. Interval Row and HIIT Row classes are pitched for "the SkiErg and row stations". Tread+ Free Mode, where you move the belt with your own power, is pitched for the sled push and the sled pull. Full and Lower Body Strength classes and Bootcamps are pitched for sandbag lunges and farmers carries. Interval Runs, Endurance Runs and Endurance Rides cover the running.

The burpee broad jump and wall balls go unnamed as class targets. The announcement says Peloton's Power 60 strength classes will help you "crush every station", but that is a pitch, not a list of movements.

The substitutes also have limits. Free Mode trains the leg drive of a sled push, but there is no rope, so the pull itself goes unrehearsed, and there are no turns, while the race push is run in short shuttles that restart from a dead stop at each end. The row classes need a Peloton Row, and Peloton describes Free Mode as a Tread+ feature. Peloton's HYROX class page, checked on 29 October 2026, lists interval and long runs, Free Mode runs, interval and HIIT rows, and full-body, total and glutes-and-legs strength classes.

An Orangetheory HYROX studio is already a Training Club

HYROX's own affiliation FAQ for gyms says: "There are no minimum requirements to become a HYROX Training Club." It advises having "most of our equipment or alternatives", and it tells affiliates they do not have to run daily HYROX classes: "It's your gym and you can decide what classes you run, and when."

Orangetheory's launch release makes every participating studio a Training Club. So for an Orangetheory member, asking whether the studio is a Training Club tells you nothing new: if it runs the HYROX classes, it is one, and that status carries no equipment requirement. The useful questions are the ones in the last column of the table. Our HYROX gym guide sets out how to judge whether a gym can prepare you.

Closing the gaps before race day

Once you know which stations your programme leaves unnamed, the rest is scheduling.

Machines a studio class may not have

The three most likely gaps are a SkiErg, a loaded sled with a rope, and a wall-ball target at race height. Early in a training block, substitutes are fine; the beginner plan's substitution table covers them. Close to the race, a dumbbell cannot tell you how a loaded sled feels after a run, or whether your wall balls still reach the target on tired legs. Book sessions at a gym that has the real machines in the final weeks, and run at least one full HYROX simulation there.

Burpee broad jumps need only floor space

None of the three programmes describes burpee broad jump training in its own HYROX material, and it is the one station that needs no kit at all. Practise the real movement over the 80 m that every Open and Pro division covers, on a floor or a field, rather than a gym-class burpee.

Race loads worth one rehearsal

Studio dumbbells are not race loads. The table gives the Open sled-push load. Two more Open loads are worth one session each before race day: the sled pull, set at 172 lb (78 kg) for women or 227 lb (103 kg) for men, and the wall ball, which weighs 9 lb (4 kg) for women or 13 lb (6 kg) for men. Pro and some other divisions carry different loads, and the weight standards tool lists the loads for each Singles, Doubles and Relay division in the rulebook.

If you already train with one of them

Orangetheory members: keep the classes for the running and the rowing, which is where Orangetheory's published programme puts its weight, and ask whether your studio runs a cycle you can time to your race. Spend your extra sessions on the stations it does not name: the sleds and the SkiErg at a gym that has them, wall balls against a real target, the farmers carry and the sandbag lunges at race loads, and burpee broad jumps.

F45 members: ask which race pieces your studio owns, and whether its sled work includes a rope pull. Add rowing, SkiErg time and burpee broad jumps, none of which F45 names as session content.

Peloton owners: the run and row classes are good for the engine, and Free Mode gives the legs a taste of the push. The sleds, the rope and wall balls still need a gym visit before race day, and burpee broad jumps, which Peloton does not name, need their own practice.

Centr is a fourth option, and a different kind. HYROX's partner page describes Centr as the team behind HYROX's official competition equipment and calls Centr's training programme the only HYROX-certified one. Centr sells it in two 12-week versions, HYROX Starter and HYROX Accelerator. It is an app, not a studio class, and the HYROX page names no station. Our guide to HYROX training apps compares it with the alternatives. For the wider picture, start at the HYROX training hub.

Frequently asked questions

What is Orangetheory HYROX?

It is Orangetheory's HYROX race-prep programme: add-on classes at participating studios, which started on 1 December 2025 after Orangetheory signed on as an official HYROX Affiliate Partner. The launch release describes classes built on treadmill running, the rower and strength exercises, and every participating studio also counts as a HYROX Training Club.

Do Orangetheory HYROX classes use a sled?

Nothing Orangetheory has published says so: neither its HYROX page nor its launch release mentions a sled. The one studio shown on camera, in Greenville, South Carolina, had none, by its regional fitness manager's own account. Unless your studio tells you otherwise, book sled sessions at a gym that owns one.

Do you need a HYROX race entry to take Orangetheory HYROX classes?

No. Orangetheory's release does not tie the classes to a race booking, and it pitches them at members who want a harder weekly routine as well as at racers. Booking runs through your own studio, since the classes are add-ons there.

Is Orangetheory enough to train for HYROX?

Not on its own, going by what Orangetheory publishes. Its programme covers the treadmill running and the rower. Every other station goes unnamed in its material and needs extra work: the sled push, the sled pull and the SkiErg on real machines, the farmers carry and the sandbag lunges at race loads, wall balls against a proper target, and burpee broad jumps, which need nothing but floor.

Is F45 a HYROX gym?

F45 is a fitness brand and, since March 2026, HYROX's official global gym partner, not a chain that HYROX owns. Before that, it was HYROX's official training partner under a 2024 agreement. A single F45 studio counts as a HYROX gym once it has affiliated with HYROX, so ask yours whether it has, and what race kit it owns.

Do HYROX Training Clubs have to own race equipment?

No. HYROX only advises its affiliates to have most of its equipment, or alternatives, and leaves each one free to choose its own classes. Before you sign up anywhere for race prep, ask which race pieces the gym has on the floor.

Is Orangetheory better than CrossFit for HYROX?

They prepare different things. Orangetheory's published HYROX programme leans on treadmill and rower conditioning, which suits a race built around running. CrossFit is a separate sport with its own training style, and our HYROX vs CrossFit guide compares the two. For race prep, judge either one by the station equipment your local studio or box has.

References